Overload

April 11, 2007 at 12:14 am (Memories, Nate, Shop, The House, Writing)

I had a post about Cybele and wands written, and I also have a post about old nemesises written but, now that’s news that will have to wait. Sort of.

One of my former bosses was killed last week. He was on the interstate and was struck by an 18 wheeler after attempting to run across the road. Then he was struck by another 18 wheeler. Not pretty. I had written about him before a long time ago in other posts but I’m too lazy to find them right now.

 I knew he had been having some problems of late but found out today that he was diagnosed with schizophrenia. Which, is just incredibly sad. Being at his memorial service today was a stark reminder of how far the gang has come since Kevin’s suicide. I recognized the same numbness, grief, and shock that we must have carried with us.

 I spoke to my former boss’s dad, who remembered who I was even though I had not worked for his son for 7 years. He told me how highly his son had spoke of me and how much he depended on me as his paralegal. I can’t get into it right now, but that was… bittersweet.

And all this after staying up with Nate last night for his sleep deprived EEG to check his seizure activity. Now, after a long nap late this afternoon (4-8:30), I was just tossing and turning around in my bed and decided to write.

And because my life is so boring and I have nothing else to do and I’m, you know, independently wealthy, I’ve decided to start my own newspaper. I’ve been kicking around the idea for a long time and after being passed over for a full-time writing position without even so much as an interview or writing clips to diss, I’m going ahead with my idea. I figure the best revenge is to build my own newspaper and then let the bastards buy me out, if ever I choose to be bought out.

 As Bon Jovi says, “Luck ain’t even lucky, got to make your own breaks.”

After tossing around in the bed for a while I realized there was another warm body down there. Yep, ole Macy Mae has become a bed kitty.

Nate is tormenting his father for the night. Thank the Lord and Lady.

They started laying the new floors today after much ado about nothing, a wasted trip to my house, and 7 phone calls. This is what happens when someone other than Ron handles the arrangements. See, had it been Ron there would have been one phone call that went something like this….

“Hey there.”

“Hey, how’s it going?”

“Good. Look, instead of the natural finish, I think you should go with the medium brown. It’s going to match your trim better.”

“Oh, okay. Whatever is going to look best.”

Instead, it was 7 phone calls between four people. And a wasted trip. When I had had 2 hours sleep in the last 36. And gas is butt fucking expensive. And I have other shit to do, like sleep and attend memorial services and harass Steve about getting paperwork in so I can do my job. Gah.

Okay, I need to write up a flyer for my newspaper and figure out all kinds of accounting stuff that I know nothing about. I hope to be around to visit you all very soon.

8 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    I’m sorry about your old boss — don’t know that you were close, but it’s always weird to lose someone you knew, however remotely you knew them.

    As for Nate and your newspaper and… Honey, you just have far too many wands in the pot.

  2. Liz said,

    My deepest sympathies. I hope you are able to get some rest. Thinking of you and Nate. Hang in there. ~Hugs.

  3. cybele said,

    Arrrg! Breathe, woman! Big, deep breaths! Stop running, and just BE for a minute, willya?

    By all means, start a newspaper if you want to. However, if you’re making up activities to distract yourself from having to deal with things you can’t control, that’s another story.

    And your boss’s dad may have just been saying nice stuff so he could spend more time staring at your tits.

    WHAT??

  4. Vince said,

    Sorry to hear about that Nanner. That totally sucks.

    Good luck with the newspaper. Knowing you, it will be great and successful.

  5. Doug said,

    Hey! It’s been awhile. Glad your still putting out stuff to read. I’d like to be the first subscriber to your newspaper. What kind of news are you gonna write aboutf? Maybe it could start out as an online newspaper…. or not. anyhow.

    thanks for sharing your life,
    doug

  6. Inanna said,

    Jammie J, that would be “too many wands in the cauldron!”

    Liz, *yawn* I’m still looking for more shut eye.

    BELLE! He was not looking at my breastses! And I had the idea for the newspaper before the fire and all of this so, I’m in the clear there.

    Vince, thanks. I think it would be incredibly successful.

    Hey Doug! Yeah, long time no see. Hope you are doing well. Yes, I know what I’m going to write about but I’m keeping it on the down low right now… however, ya’ll will be the first to know!

  7. Trashman said,

    Can I write the advice column?

  8. tinyhands said,

    I’m with Jeanette- I’m worried that you might be stretched a bit thin at the moment.

Leave a Reply

