The Fishing Trip

April 1, 2007 at 11:55 pm (Nate, The House)

I logged in to post about my fishing trip and found I was “Blog of the Minute.” How odd is that?  Ummmm…. whoooo hooooo!???! Yeah, anyway, Nate and I took the big fishing trip on Saturday. We were supposed to be at the lake at 7 a.m. for the stocking of the 2,000 lbs. of catfish to herald in the season.

 It rained. And rained. And rained. Ugh. But we fished anyway, just a bit later, more towards 9:30. Some really nice guys were beside of us and let Nate use one of their poles once they had caught their limit.  It could cast further than his and once they found a nice hole where the fish were biting, Nate reeled in two really nice sized fishies.

 Then, he kept getting nibbles but not enough to hook it. Finally, it took the bait, Nate set the hook, and landed flat on his rear as he fought and fussed around with Fish #3. You could see why when they finally netted it. What a cat! No, it wasn’t an award winning 85 pounder but it was a nice 6 1/2 pounder. 

big-fish-002.jpg

It’s the one hiding behind the smaller fish. And if it looks like Nate had been crying, well he had been. See, he wanted to keep the big fish in our BATHTUB!  No, no, no, no, no fish in my bathtub!  My dad allows the boys to fish at the farm but also allows them to throw them back.  Nate loves to fish but hates to kill the fish.

Well, I have no such problem. Or so I thought… I dumped the fishies in the big sink in the kitchen and set out to prepare them for cooking.  Oh, wait, where are my pliers… oh, yeah, somewhere at the house, maybe, if the pliers survived at all… and I’m tired and wet and starting my period and I don’t feel like going out for a freakin’ pair of pliers.  Yeah, and no hammer or nails to nail said catfish to a wooden block after killing said catfish with a blow to the head with a hammer or mallet, which I also don’t have.

big-fish-001.jpg

Don’t believe that garbage about fish not being able to survive out of water.

No hammer, no mallet, no nails, no pliers.  PLAN B! I cut their tails and bled them out by hanging them from the cabinets over the sink by the stringer. It looked like a slaughterhouse. TIP: This doesn’t really kill them either. They were all quite fussy about this process.

I took a tip from our good friend, Gollum, and finally slapped the smaller fishes’ heads against the cutting board. Gollum, if you will recall, slapped the fishes head on the rocks in Return of the King.  The first fish, well, it just took me pert near forever to skin that bastard.  The second one, forget it, I just scalded that puppy until I could just wipe the skin off. My dad fussed about that because, *whine* “It ruins the taste of the fish.”

Nope, tasted fine to me.

big-fish-003.jpg

But, that still left big fellow, who despite my best efforts, was still sort of breathing in the sink. This was not helped by the fact that Nate continued to pour water on said fish while I fussed. It was a fussy day.

I wrapped a scouring pad around the blade of my biggest knife and beat the crap out of that fish with the handle. Which really, just pissed it off so I beat it some more.  Then I cut off it’s tail, gutted it, washed it well, and wrapped it in foil a gozillion times, since the bastard left me one last reward… splaying its razor sharp barbed fins, so I had to resort to multiple layers of foil to ward off freezer burn.

big-fish-004.jpg

Then I tied plastic bags around it up over the fins and rearranged my entire freezer.

big-fish-005.jpg

And there shall it stay until I can take it to the farm where my father can skin it appropriately, as I didn’t have anything big enough to scald it in. 

 And that, was our fishing trip. I swear, I’d rather hunt for 8 hours in freezing temperatures, field dress 10 deer, and haul them all back to the house as to face one thick-skinned catfish.

12 Comments

  1. Kate the Peon said,

    Not that I ever planned on it, but remind me NOT to mess with you. Ever.

    And I was also blog o’ the minute when I logged in. Think it’s some new WP thing…

  2. Aimee said,

    Woah, Nanner, that’s so cool! I mean, I’m sorry it was such a pain in the ass–but what a great day with your son, ending with an impressive story!

    Damnit. Now I’m hungry for catfish…

  3. kenju said,

    I would rather go out and order catfish in a restaurant. I am too squeamish (and lazy) to do all that! But good for you and Nate!

  4. Vince said,

    This is why I don’t fish.

    The thought of you smashing a fish against a cutting board just makes me giggle inside! That must be a great way to vent frustration.

  5. cybele said,

    You are Wilderness Woman! I totally admire you! And also totally do not want to BE you! A catfish properly belongs on a bun, with crispy cormeal coating, in New Orleans with a bit of spicy mustard, caught and cooked and served by SOMEONE OTHER THAN ME. Primarily Decorative does NOT like to get fishygoop under her fingernails. I would fish, and even bait my own hook, if it meant getting to sun myself in a boat while I was at it. But I’d let ’em go, or let someone else cook.

    I’d have kept them in the bathtub, and fed the cornmeal to them. Auntie Belle feels ya, Nateroo.

  6. Julie said,

    Poor Nate. The question is did his feelings for catfish right-to-life extend to not eating them?

    Catfish are uuuuugly. Part of me would want to kill one by beating it upside the head, the other part would probably scream like a little girl when it flared its fins at me and squirmed around.

  7. LisaBinDaCity said,

    I really hope my host is not serving fish tonight 😉

  8. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    “Okay, Nate, here’s what we’re gonna do. If you gotta fish, you gotta clean. Okay, Honey?”

  9. Inanna said,

    You know I’d never smash your head against a cutting board, Sister Katey Peon Peach or bleed you out by your tail!

    Aimee, I have catfish in the freezer if you’re hungry!

    Kenju, I think next time I’ll take a long a big strong guy who has pliers while I stand back and look pretty.

    Ha, I made Vince giggle, well, on the inside. At least I didn’t sing the Gollum song while I did it. That would have been tooooo weird.

    Cybele, LOL! Yeah, if it were up to Nate I’d have a bathtub full of fish eating cornmeal!

    Julez, yes, Nate’s right-to-lfie for the catfish extends to not eating them. This however does not hold true for deer.

    LisaB., I’ll laugh if he does!

    Hoss, *snort* not gonna happen.

  10. J. said,

    *shudder*

  11. restless angel said,

    I think I’ll stick to the haddock @ the restaurant, LOL.

  12. CrazyRideLady said,

    At my house the fish come in from the lake, disappear out back with someone who is not me (don’t really care who as long as it’s not me), then arrive in the house as lovely filets in a nice bowl of clean water. I like my way better.

Leave a Reply

