Calamity Friends

March 29, 2007 at 11:24 pm (Crazy Shit, T-Bird)

My life just keeps getting more interesting. T-Bird had major oral surgery last Friday. For some reason, following the births of her children, her teeth just started going to pot. Finally, she had all of her top teeth, including an impacted wisdom tooth and a cyst, removed.

She got sick from the anesthesia and threw up a lot. Yeah, and whilst in mid throw up she puked her teeth out, which were supposed to stay in for 24 hours. So, guess who got to help her put her teeth back in. Go on, guess.

ME!

Guess who got to do it again a few days later while T-Bird is in excruciating pain? Yep, me again. See, the teeth were too tight and needed to be filed down, which I did some of with just a regular nail file. Add “dentist” to my jack-of-all trades list.

While T-Bird was laying with her head toward the floor and I had her lip pulled out, looking at her gums, which were not very pretty , blood and guts, thank you, guiding her to putting the plate back in, and cringing as I watched the terrible pain manifest itself over her face, then rubbing her jaws to help relax her face, and then finally coaxing a smile out of her by saying, “You know I’m going to blog this.”

“Yeah.”

The real dentist filed her new teeth down too and now T-Bird is feeling fine.

THEN, today, I went to the house to see if they were ripping up more of the floors yet because I talked to the adjustor again and we’re going to remove the floors in an ever widening circle away from the computer room to see what we can see and try to save as much of the floor as possible.

No one was at the house nor had been at the house because my note was still in the door. Oh well. So, I saw my new neighbor, who had the joy of meeting me for the first time the night of the fire. She’s as friendly as her husband is aloof. They got a new puppy and she was showing me the precious pooch. A friend of her’s was there and they were leaving to go get the puppy groomed. So, I said goodbye and went and got in my car.

Heather was behind me and her friend was behind her. I looked in my side mirror to see if any traffic was coming when I saw Heather jump from her car. I thought she was going to tell her friend something, then I realized the car was still moving. Ooops, runaway car!!! Heather was waving at me to move so I pulled my car forward as it kept getting closer and Heather is running after it. Then I saw her get knocked down but the car was now heading for the retaining wall next to the tracks. I thought for sure the car was going to run over her.

Once I saw the car going towards the wall, I threw my car into neutral, pulled the brake and jumped out myself. Obviously her friend had been running from behind because she got the dog out of the car and Heather was sitting on the wall, her knees pouring blood. Blood and guts, again. After inquiring as to whether she needed an ambulance, I helped her over to her front steps while her friend brought towels.

“Does the sight of blood make you sick?”

I looked up at her poor, tear streaked face and said, “Nah. It’s all good.”

She told me she didn’t have any diseases but she did have some gloves if I wanted some. I started laughing and she said, “God, I’m so stupid. I can’t believe all of this happened over a spider.” I laughed even harder while she related that a nice little spider had dropped down from the visor. As she is terrified of spiders, she jumped out of the car, never even realizing it was in “drive.”

Oh my hell.

She is such a sweet person. She took me in and gave me socks and a sweatshirt and has been nothing but friendly since we’ve met. She’s always concerned with how the house is going and when we’re coming back and if their dog barks and irritates us to just let her know.

I felt so bad for her and I could tell she was embarrassed to have almost got herself run over, almost run over my car, and she was so concerned about her poor pooch in the front seat. Luckily, she was able to put the car in park before it knocked her on her ass.

She looked at me and said, “We must be calamity friends. We can’t get together without something happening.”

I laughed and thought, “Yeah, just what I needed… another calamity friend.”

10 Comments

  1. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Yup, just was you need 😉

  2. cybele said,

    She sounds as though she’s going to make your life even more entertaining than it’s been so far.

    She needs a name now. SpiderWoman, maybe?

  3. Vince said,

    Didn’t know you were a medic. That will be handy to know if we party together.

    Cause somehow I think blood and guts will be involved in some way.

  4. Kate the Peon said,

    You’re a true friend, Sister Nanner Peach. 🙂

  5. Inanna said,

    Lisa, not to mention, right next door.

    Cybele, I was thinking Calamity Jane but SpiderWoman, definitely a good choice.

    Vince, yes, add “medic” to my many talents. I am trained in First Aid and CPR you know. And, as long as the blood and guts are not ours, I think we can handle the party.

    Sister Katey Peach, it’s downright frightening what I’ll do for my friends.

  6. Foundme said,

    Ha, that reminded me of the other night at work, every time I’d talk about feeling the skull fracture of my patient with my finger in the wound, the cops that had wanted to arrest him would cringe and ask me to stop so they wouldn’t puke. I think I only said it again about four times after that, I’m so eeeevil.

  7. restless angel said,

    Can you imagine, once you’re back in the house? 🙂

  8. se7en said,

    You’re such a good friend and doctor too! Ya gotta watch out for the evil spiders!! 🙂

  9. mrsmogul said,

    It must have been funny when she jumped about the spider. Spiders don’t scare me though they are considered good luck. Once when I was on a driving test, my instructor thought a bee went into the car and freaked out!>

  10. blackpunkin said,

    Foundme, ya know, i would have wanted to poke my finger in to cop a feel? How eeevil does that make me?

    RA, I can only imgaine…

    Se7en, someone has to patch everyone else up!

    Mrs. M – spiders don’t scare me exactly. It’s just a little creepy to have one actually crawling on me. I had one in my car that stuck around so long I named it Eustace.

Leave a Reply

