For Everything There Is A Season…

March 27, 2007 at 12:40 am (The House, Uncategorized)

And a time for every purpose under the sun…

 I finally got some of the pictures taken of the house a few days after the fire.

The source of the fire, my floor furnace. To the left of the grate you can see the hole burned in the floor.

hpim0112.JPG

It spread into the computer room, the ceiling, and attic, burning every box, bag, and table, including those in the attic. All of the debris here is a combination of me tossing everything looking for stuff, the contents of that section of the attic, the ceiling, and insulation, plus parts of the wall.  You can see my computer desk and what was left of my monitor in the right back corner of the picture. 

hpim0116.JPG

The fire burned through the door of Nate’s room and scorched all of the furniture.

hpim0115.JPG

It spread into the bathroom, which was opposite the computer room. It melted the shower curtain to the tub and the heat peeled the shower stall from the wall.

 hpim0113.JPG

The heat rose in my room, scorching all of the furniture, burning pictures right off the walls and melting my CD holder, which was empty.

hpim0118.JPG

 The fire spread into the living room and along the love seat, up the walls, burning my dad’s moose antlers, and a set of paintings my German sister had done.

hpim0109.JPG

Across the ceiling

hpim0108.JPG

Along the east wall, across the entertainment center, to the curio cabinet and front air conditioner.

hpim0106.JPG

A picture of Nate, my brother, and myself was hanging on the wall next to the curio cabinet… It survived with some heat damage.

pictures-005.JPG

The heat and fire came into the kitchen from both the computer room and the living room. Melting the blinds, the litterboxes, scorching the cabinets. and causing part of the ceiling to fall.

hpim0111.JPG

hpim0110.JPG

Yet, a picture of my host father in Greece, which was taped to the inside of the cabinet to the far left beside of the refridgerator, was unharmed.

pictures-001.JPG

I found Ozzy a foot from the front door, in front of the air conditioner. Cali was in front of the curio. Marco was lying on the end table beside of the couch, which was against the west wall, to the left of the moose antlers and not visibile in the pictures. Lola was lying on top of the couch.

Napoleon was in the computer room.  He was badly burned and a piece of metal had melted across his body. I dug him out with a shovel, a screwdriver, and my bare hands because I could not stand the thought of leaving him there.  I told the house that he was mine and it may have taken him but it was not going to keep him.

Ireland was in the doorway of my bedroom and Midnight was in the doorway of the bathroom, her favorite place to hide was behind the commode.

 I found Smokey on my bed, right where he was when I left. The blinds had melted and fallen over most of his body. I lost it.

I knelt on my soaked mattress and sobbed into my filty, sooty hands, in my filthy, sooty clothes, in the miserable cold. I remembered the kitten that they said wouldn’t live. Malnourished and so tiny when I brought him home, only to prove them all wrong and live and grow into the 18 lb. patriarch of my feline family.

He sent many a dog packing for daring to sniff a blade of grass of his property, after all, I just paid the bills so he could rule the roost. And even at the age of 11, he still loved to play with his fluffy tail.  He didn’t mind eating your hair, or breathing in your face, or biting your toes or meowing loudly if it meant you waking up and feeding him.

He hated dogs but he was the most tolerant of all the cats with kittens and new cats, as soon as they figured out that he was the boss. When the door opened and Schmo walked in, he was met by his family, even cranky Midnight. Napoleon followed him everywhere he went. The kittens would curl up against his big fluffy belly and he would groom them, just as though they were his own.

And, he survived Nate. Not bad given the fact Nate actually tried to nurse on him when he was a baby. If a cat can give you a “look,” well, he definitely gave me one that day. And when those who have been to my home heard of the fire, they didn’t ask of the cats, they asked of Schmo.

He and I weathered many storms together and I always said he was the most faithful man I ever had. I miss him.

16 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    😦

    (((HUGS)))

  2. brightonandbear said,

    Oh girl, that made me cry. Hugs.

  3. Liz said,

    😦 Thinking of you. Many hugs.

  4. restless angel said,

    Wow… just… Huge huge hugs. *wipes a tear or two….*

  5. LisaBinDaCity said,

    There are no words, sweet girl.

    I am just so sorry for your loss.

  6. Ashley said,

    You once said to me in relation to the passing of my friend’s father: “May she find comfort in knowing her father was deeply loved and that love never dies.”

    I hope that you too find comfort in this fact.

    You’re in my thoughts.

    *Hugs, Nanner*

  7. kenju said,

    How horrible, Inanna. There is a lesson to be learned here, but what a hard one.

  8. noonie said,

    thank the gods you two weren’t in there as well…. now about that amazon wishlist… nag nag nag

  9. Vince said,

    I didn’t realize you had so many cats. It’s all so tragic.

  10. cybele said,

    Bravo, you. That was horrifying, gorgeous, painful, and hard to write and you did it.

    Fabulous work, Peach. Keep at it, my girl.

    xox

  11. Susanne said,

    Wow…

    Im proud of you too, hun. I echo what Cybele said. Tons of hugs for you and nate, and the kittys too.

    and those kitchen cabinets? I have those in my kitchen… wow!

    Love ya hun!

  12. boo said,

    Wow Nanners……those pics really show the horror. I am sooo sorry for your losses.

    I know there is a season for everything but sometimes I have to wonder what possible purpose all this could serve.

    I’m glad it is starting to come back together for you though. Hugs sweetie. You and Nate are in my thoughts.

  13. Jammie J said,

    Strange what makes it through a fire and what doesn’t, isn’t it?

    Thanks for sharing your pictures with us.

  14. Vickie said,

    This brought tears to my eyes to read, but at the same time, I thought ,what an honorable post. You feel and care deeply and you share that. Thank you.

  15. Inanna said,

    Oh, thank you all for your encouragement and kindness. Sometimes I just need to talk…

  16. Tina said,

    Talking is a good thing, girl. 😉

Leave a Reply

