Hi

February 1, 2007 at 11:03 am (Attitude in Overdrive, Crazy Shit)

Hi everyone.  I tried to post yesterday but the computer at my now, old job, didn’t want to let me. Bah.

 

Last night around 9 p.m. I’m guessing all of the adrenaline that has been driving me forward ran the fuck out. I crashed, hard. My head hit the pillow at whatever time and I didn’t know there was a world until I heard Jeff’s voice telling Nate it was time to get up. He told me he was trying to let me sleep but the moment I heard his voice I was awake.

 

My insurance company has been incredible. SAFECO. Their investigator, claims adjustor, and contents adjustor have been awesome.  Their contractors (cleaning services, housing, building) have also been awesome. I couldn’t ask for more, other than to have my house and my cats back.  They have all been very professional yet compassionate.

 

Jeff and his girlfriend, Vivian, have been awesome as well. We all know they didn’t have to take me in, Nate yes, me, no. They have been super supportive.

 

My co-workers, from my legal job and from my writing job, have been awesome, gathering clothes, money, pots and pans, linens, just overwhelming. I’ll get more to that later.

 

And of course, all of my friends, and friends of friends, and family of friends of friends, including all of you. The outpouring of love and support is so overwhelming it makes me cry.  I thank all of you from the bottom of my heart. I have so much to tell you about the things that I have found and the small victories of picking through the rubble and finding something untouched.

 

If you have called and I haven’t returned your call, it may be that you called at a time when I was out of cell phone range and your message was there but not your number. My voicemail is still up at the house too. If you call and I don’t answer make sure you leave a call back number. My phone has rang so much that all of the numbers in memory are being overwritten.

 

There has only been one bad experience, other than the obvious. I almost punched out the city building inspector. I will be filing a formal complaint against that fucking prick as soon as I can. We had heated words about his fucked up attitude and abuse of power. I let him know straight up how I felt. Didn’t help that I was in the process of carrying my precious felines out of the house for burial during this time period. The insurance adjustor said that in 25 years he has NEVER had anything like this happen.

 

Once I stopped crying and ranting after the fucking bastard left, I called Steve, who has called me 20 times a day, met with the contractor when I couldn’t be there, etc. etc. He called his friend, the mayor. I’m not in the best mood peeps and I’m still very emotional, but the thought of Steve walking into the mayor’s office and telling him, “Either you sit on your man, or I will,” makes me chuckle in a very sad, yet evil, way. And the fucking piece of shit deserves it. And he deserves everything I’m going to throw at him. And he also deserved for me to punch him out, or crack his jaw open with my MagLite, or have the side of his head bashed in with my shovel.

 

He is one damn lucky fucker that he walked out unscathed other than his ears ringing from the tongue lashing I gave him.

 

I’m really trying to focus on the positive instead of this asshole, but I don’t want him to do this to someone else. Someone not as strong as I am. Someone older or younger or not has knowledgeable or who has suffered a greater loss than I did. Plus, I have to get it out of me so I CAN focus on the good and the positive.

 

Well, I have to go meet the contents adjustor here in a few and I’m going to see if I can dig anything else out. I love you all and thank you for everything.

 

Nanner

43 Comments

  1. Julie said,

    I’m glad that some positive things are coming out of this, but I would also like to come down and beat that piece of shit building inspector into a pulp. Who is he to fuck with someone who has been through what you’ve gone through? Typical small town big wig who has let his limited power go to his head (I remember the type well from when I lived in PA).

    Know that Rick and I are sending continued good vibes your way. So is my mom, actually. 🙂

  2. Kate the Peon said,

    Thanks for updating us, Nanner. Glad to hear you’re hanging in – though I had no doubts. Check your mail in a coupla days, too…

  3. restless angel said,

    I’m so glad everything (besides that mother— grrr…) has been positive… know you’re bothin my thoughts.

  4. Vince said,

    Since we already talked, I don’t need to say much. Like I said, I got your back, whatever you need, you let me know.

  5. Serra said,

    ~Hugs~ Love you Nanner. If there’s an assassination squad being formed for that fucknut count me in–I know how to make such delights as homemade Napalm and a few other things in the secret cookbook.

  6. cybele said,

    Keep breathing. Deep breaths. Remember to inhale. Remember to exhale.

    Much love.

  7. Jeanette said,

    I’m so proud of you, honey. You’re doing so good and you are gonna get through this. You know I love you, sister of my heart.

    I have to admit some curiosity, because I’m nosy like that and totally admit it, but what did he do? I’m so glad we got to talk on Monday — it made me feel assured that you’re gonna be okay.

    xoxo

  8. LisaBinDaCity said,

    I actually think it’s quite healthy to be mad at that piece of crap building inspector. Anger is a part of grief and you are grieving Honey. Send it all his way and get it all out. THEN you can concentrate on the positive 😉

    Besides as you said, it will keep that prick from doing that to someone else.

    I think you are doing great!

  9. Michael said,

    I’ve done a little bit of construction, working with contractors and subs, and in my limited experience, building inspectors are typically jerks. I don’t know if that helps, but they seem to get asshole training as part of the job requirements. Good luck, Peaches.

  10. Celti said,

    Glad to hear things are going as well as they can. Love you, hon. You’re an inspiration to me, and you know I’ll do whatever I can to help. *hugs* Call me when you get a chance.

  11. Foundme said,

    Glad you got peeps, lots of peeps.

    And honestly, that guy being a jerk at least gives you something to vent on. It’s at least a silver lining, ha ha.

  12. Angi said,

    Sounds like you have an amazing support system! I’m so glad you do.

    And I really pity the guy who crosses an upset Nanner. I hope he gets all he deserves.

  13. Kent said,

    I’m glad to hear you are pulling things back together after all of this. I’m sorry you had to deal with the jerk, but that is now the past and you can get back to work on the future. Again, if I can do anything, give me a call.

  14. Beth said,

    I wish we had talked on the phone for the first under better circumstances, but I’m so glad I got to talk to you. I was so worried.

    It was strange, but I called to see if there was anything I can do to help, but listening to you talk, made ME feel better. And you said MY accent was cute, yours was downright soothing. 😀

  15. E-Lo said,

    Oh my god, hon. I’m so sorry about all of this. If you need anything, ANYTHING at all, you know I’m right up here in PA and I’ll help you out.

    ((((HUGS))))

  16. Jennifer said,

    I have been thinking that if I had a way to call you I would. But seeing as your phone is ringing off the hook, I guess it’s okay just to let you know that I have been thinking about you and Nate.

    Hugs sweetie.. hang in there!

  17. 3sth3r said,

    Small victories are good and rude building inspectors can just go jump in front of a train. *hugs*

  18. Tina said,

    What a dickhead. I am sure the building inspector will get his. Glad to here things are on the upswing. I was in PA all weekend but I was thinking about you and Nate. Love ya, girl!

  19. Tricia said,

    Celti told me what happened and I am just so heartbroken for you.

    Try to keep your chin up.

    The last thing you need is some abusive prick when you already have so much burden. Makes you wonder how these assholes get so far in their careers.

    Sending you all my strength and prayers.

  20. Lois Lane said,

    I’m so sorry all of this is happening to you. Being out of touch on the blogs, I had no idea. I’m sorry. If there’s anything you need or anything I can do, let me know. I’m glad you are filing a complaint against the prick. Couldn’t happen to a nicer guy.

  21. Julie said,

    How goes it, Peaches? I’m sending you something…check your email.

  22. Sara said,

    Well I have to say that I actually had a really good visual of you ranting at him and then bitch slapping him. And hey I don’t even know what you look like. I am glad you have a good set of strong shoulders to deal with the asshole and keep looking for the roses and not the thorns.

    You are in my thoughts.

  23. Kate the Peon said,

    Anyone have any updates?

  24. boo said,

    I was just wondering the same thing KTP

  25. Kate the Peon said,

    I have a phone date with Nanner tonight…I’ll throw an update on here tomorrow.

  26. shhville said,

    *kicking the tires, waiting….*

  27. Kate the Peon said,

    Hi folks! I talked with our Peach last night and she sounded really good. Tired, but upbeat and still with her sense of humor. The contractors are signed and already beginning to gut the entire house in preparation for the rebuild. The estimated timeframe is 60 days – not too bad. She and Nate are in a 2bdrm apt (all paid for by insurance), so their sanity is recovering after time at Jeff’s.

    Thanks to Steve’s interference, Nanner had a personal chat with the Mayor and she wll be formally documenting the building inspector’s asinine behavior. She’s also standing up to – and I quote – “the twin cunts at the end of the street” – in true Nanner fashion.

    She’s received a lot of goodwill – from us, from coworkers, from friends of coworkers. Enough goodwill so that she knows she’s loved! 🙂 She also managed to find some trinkets from various blogger meets – N’Awlins, Kansas City, Vegas, Pittsburgh – and is thinking of us.

    On that note…she is able to sporadically check email but not her site or others. What she specifically stated she needed is for us to come here and leave a comment telling her how we are. I sorta got the impression that she misses us. 🙂 The comments then feed into her email so she’ll get updated that way until she’s back to blogging.

    So, get to it!

  28. boo said,

    Hi Nanners- I’ve been thinking of you everyday. Checking this space for news. (Thanks KTP) I’m glad things are going as well as they can at this point. Love you Hon. Take care and give Nate a big sloppy kiss on his whole face for me. 😉

  29. restless angel said,

    Thanks for the update KTP! Nanner, I’m glad you’re alright. All’s well here, just a bit on the cold side though. I got your email back and you’re so welcome 🙂 You and Nate take care, hope to “see” you back around soon! *hugz*

  30. brightonandbear said,

    So glad you and Nate are ok, call me if you need ANYTHING!!!

  31. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Thinking of you and wishing you both well…

  32. se7en said,

    Thanks for the update Katie and glad to hear some good news too! Nanner, kick that assholes butt! Big hugs to you and Nate and I hope everything is going well.

  33. noonie said,

    Nanner, youa ren’t missing anything at my blog I’ve still not posted… bad Noonie

    So sorry to hear, I think fire is the thing I fear the most. Poor kitties, poor NAte and poor you. Hang in there, am sending all my positive thoughts your way.

    Do you have an Amazon wish list and a Fire Mountains wishlist.. if so let me know.

    Big hugs….

  34. Julie said,

    Not much going on here, either. Wait a minute, that’s not true, I had a blogger meet-up this weekend with two of blogland’s most mysterious people. Can you guess who?

  35. Sara said,

    BTW-I TAGGED your ass over on my site. Hope all is going well.

  36. Susanne said,

    Hi Nanners! Im really glad to hear you and Nate are doing well 🙂 I’ve been checking here every day (I didnt think to check the comments again – duh) I’ve been thinking about you every day.

    Much love to you and Nate!! Give eachother hugs for me =)

  37. KtP said,

    Happy VDay, hon!

  38. Liz said,

    My thoughts are with you and Nate and I hope and pray that you will hold on to the strength within. If you need anything, donations, please let me know.

    Many hugz and well wishes.

  39. restless angel said,

    Happy Belated Valentine’s Day Nanner! We got hit w/ a Nor’Easter yesterday, and I’ve been sick since Saturday, but finally starting to feel like myself again… fingers crossed it’s for real this time! Just wanted to say hello.

  40. Seamus said,

    OMG! NannerBelle! I’m so heartbroken to read these last 2 posts. I finally came up for air and am catching up from the last several weeks. I’m glad there are some positive things happening despite the tragic losses. If I can help, let me know. Meanwhile, double-bash the inspector prick – sounds like he deserves it.

  41. brightonandbear said,

    Just checking in on you, call me if you need anything!

  42. Zelda said,

    Hey girl. Just checking in. Hope everything is okay.

  43. Ashley said,

    My comments have not been working but I hope that this one does! I am leaving in about an hour for Biloxi and will be gone a week. I hope that you’re back online by then, but I am thinking that you probably won’t be.

    I hope that you’re doing well, I think of you often and check your site all the time just in case you have posted an update, even though the comment above explains that you won’t/can’t.

    Remember that I’m here if you need me. *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

