BAD, BAD NEWS

January 29, 2007 at 10:29 am (Uncategorized)

I came home from T-Bird’s last night to find my house on fire. I’m not sure what caused it but it started around the floor furnace. Either the cats knocked something onto it or it just finally blew something. My computer room, the entire hallway, the attic, all burned. The rest of the house has severe smoke and water damage.

 

But those are just things. Some things that were precious in that house, sentimental value, but nothing more so than my precious cats, all of whom perished, other than Hermione, who stays outside exclusively.

 

I knew something was wrong when I got home and the entire house was black and when I opened the screen door, black smoke rolled out. Somehow I found the right key and opened the door. I dropped to my knees and began hollering for my precious babies. The smoke was so thick and black, I couldn’t even tell where the fire was, and I couldn’t breath, even at the front door. The wind blew at one point and I started to crawl inside, yelling, and that’s when I saw Smokey. He couldn’t have been more than a foot inside the front door but he was dead.

 

I knew then that all of them were dead and should have known when the acrid smoke rolled over top of me. I was starting to get burned. The heat was so intense it burned the Christmas lights still on my porch and they dropped down on me. My right hand and my chin are burned and I dug a few Christmas lights out of my hair. My left hand, oddly enough, is frostbitten, as it was the coldest day of the year so far, 17 degrees. Time meant nothing to me and I wandered for two hours without gloves, feet wet, in snow, just in shock.

 

Luckily, Nate is fine. He was with me and he ran to the neighbor’s and pounded on the door, then, God love his heart, he ran down the street toward the fire department, which is just over the railroad tracks. He seems to be taking this much better than I am. Luckily again, I had washed his clothes and taken them to T-Bird’s to dry. However, I don’t have much.

 

So, now I deal with recovering what I can and just dealing with burying my precious babies. It is a small consolation knowing that they were probably overcome by fumes early on and did not suffer. It is a small consolation. My computer room is just, well, gone, so I don’t know when I will be back.

 

Just keep us in your thoughts and prayers. I love you all.           

57 Comments

  1. Michael said,

    Whoa…. I’m glad you and Nate are okay. I’m so sorry to hear this. Best of luck to you two… Jeez.

  2. Crypto said,

    I’m sorry for the lost of your cats. That has to be hard.

    I’m glad you and Nate are ok.

  3. LisaBinDaCity said,

    I am SO SORRY. Bless your heart. I am very happy you and Nate are safe though! And I feel so sad for the loss of your precious kitties.

    Let us know what you need…

  4. se7en said,

    OMG!!! I’m so glad you two are ok, what a horrible thing to happen! Be strong and take care of yourselves, and try to keep in touch as best as you can. Let us know if there’s anything we can do to help! Big hugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Vince said,

    Holy shit. Glad you guys are ok. If you need anything, let me know.

  6. Serra said,

    I am so sorry to hear this, hon ~hugs~ If you need something, email me if you can, k?
    serrathescented@gmail.com

  7. Kate the Peon said,

    Oh, Nanner. I’m so glad you & Nate are okay, and so sorry for your loss.

  8. Gooch said,

    So sorry, Inanna.

  9. Myles said,

    I’m so sorry, but very thankful that you and Nate are ok. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do. I’m only a couple hours away.

  10. tinyhands said,

    This could have been so much worse, I shudder to even think about it.
    Let us know what you need and you’ll have it.

  11. ESC said,

    oh my god, nanner, that is horrible. thank god you and nate are OK. please please PLEASE let me know if there is anything I can do! money, clothes, beads, whatever – I will do my best!

    *bone crushing bear hug because you are OK!*

  12. Julie said,

    Oh, Nanner, I am SO sorry. I’m glad you and Nate are okay, but your cats…I can’t even imagine. What can I help you with? I don’t have much, but you know you are welcome to any of it.

    *hugs to you and Nate*

  13. Jeanette said,

    Oh shit. That sucks so bad. I’m crying for you, I don’t know how I’d get through if I lost my precious babies. I’m so blasted sorry for your loss. I wish I could bring them back and give you a hug. Thank God for Nate’s presence of mind.

    Oh honey. I’m just so very sorry.

  14. Aimee said,

    Nanner-Peach: Check your gmail as soon as you have a chance.

    Do you need jackets, gloves, scarves, dishes, pots, pans, anything, everything? I can help…

    Love you much.

  15. boo said,

    OMG- Nanners, I feels so bad. Sounds like you were in shock. Please, seriously, let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

  16. Jeanette said,

    EVERYONE:

    Inanna asked me to relay to you that she’s okay — she doesn’t need anything right now. Her insurance company is being good to her and her work took up a collection for money. So she’s okay for now. She’s pilfering through the smoke and ashes and reclaiming what she can. She even has discovered that “being a slob” is beneficial as the flames devoured the crap on top but the good stuff underneath made it through. She’s devastated about her kitties, though.

  17. Tina said,

    When I got the TM this morning I freaked out, but then was relieved to hear that you and Nate were OK. It could of been A LOT worse. As far as the kitties I feel horrible and I know how devastated you are. My heart goes out to you. I know what it’s like to find your beloved pets suddenly dead. I was thinking about them, as well as you and Nate all day. Glad to hear that you have a kickass insurance company and even a more kickass workplace. If you need anything else you know where to reach me, man. I love ya!

  18. blog action friends!!!! at Evilsciencechick’s said,

    […] first! go over and read Nanner’s post. […]

  19. Kristin said,

    Oh honey, I’m so very sorry for your lose. If you need anything don’t hesitate to ask.

  20. the Narcissist said,

    Oh NO! I’m so sorry, especially about the kitties. And your hand. And your computer room. My thoughts and prayers definitely go out for you.

  21. kenju said,

    Oh, Inanna, the most important thing is that you and Nate are okay. I am sorry about the cats; I know how I would feel to lose my girls.

    You go on my prayer list right now and will remain until you tell me not to. Take care and don’t lose hope.

  22. SJ said,

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I can only imagine the pain of losing your beloved pets. Thoughts and prayers are with you.

  23. Tot said,

    Oh honey I am so sorry. Great big hugs for you love.

  24. kama said,

    I am Nanner’s cousin, and I just wanted to thank you all for being there for her right now. I know how much you all mean to her, she talks about you constantly.

    I talked to her earlier this evening and she’s hanging in there, trying to pick up the pieces. She is devastated about her cats, as we all would be.

    She has salvaged very little from the house, but one thing that survived is precious to our entire family – our Grandmother’s bible.

    Please keep sending her your prayers and positive energy, she needs all she can get.

    I am glad she has friends like you.

    Thank you
    Kama

  25. Nanner said,

    I’m just overwhelmed from the e-mails and phone calls and everything. I’m at my parent’s house right now but I’ll be heading back to Jeff’s to be with Nate very soon. Nate is doing fine. I was able to salvage a few precious items and they were so very precious….

    As my cousin mentioned, our Mama’s Bible and my other grandma’s Bible. Some of my jewelry was lost but I did manage to find my Grandma’s ring. Also, the Italian charm bracelet Celti gave me in Kansas City, so long ago. It was beside of the computer where everything else burned. The address book that Kristin made me. Pictures from my trip to Vegas with Mikey. Odds and ends, this and that, but every tiny thing was a victory.

    Reminders that my friends were thinking of me. And yes, all of my beads and my bead books survived, practically unscathed. I can’t say as much for my crochet.

    There was so much more damage than I initally realized. So much more. Steve, Stacey, and my cousin Richard were at the house at varying times today. Stacey and Richard are bringing picks and shovels to help bury my precious kitties. And no, they did not suffer.

    I thank all of you for everything. The law firm I’m leaving on Wed. just really opened up and I am doing fine moneywise. I’ll write more later. Stacey is setting me up with a computer and we were able to get the tower out and it didn’t look too bad. Just, thank you all so much. I love you.

  26. Celti said,

    honey, check your voice mail. You call me and let me know what you need and I’ll do what I can for you. I’m SO very, very sorry about the kitties – bless their hearts. My heart is broken for you, love, but so happy that you and Nate are ok. It could have been so much worse. Call me, hon, when you get a chance. *huge, healing hugs*

  27. Angi said,

    Oh hon, I am so sorry, I can’t imagine going through that. I’m praying for you and Nate, if you need to talk or anything, just give me a call.

  28. Sara said,

    Sorry, oh sorry. Although I am not in financial heaven right now, please let me know how I can help. I as you notice we are all thinking of you and have you in whatever kind of prayers we do.

  29. Seth said,

    Nanner, I just wanted to echo everyone’s care and concern, it’s such a horrible tragedy. We’ll keep your losses in our hearts and we’ll have a candle light vigil in memory of your loss.

  30. restless angel said,

    I’m so, so sorry Nanner…. the fire, the kitties…. I’m so happy you and Nate are alright.

  31. Kent said,

    OMG!!

    I’m so sorry hun. I know how important they are are to you… especially Smokey. You make sure and let me know what I can do.

  32. AJ said,

    Oh my God! Nanner, I am so sorry! And I’m even sorrier that I had to learn of this second hand. You will definitely be in my prayers, and as everyone else has said, I’m just thankful that you and Nate are okay.

    Hang in there sweetie…please let me know if I can do anything to help.

  33. shhville said,

    Nanner, what size clothes do you wear?

  34. Zelda said,

    Nanner I’m so sorry. If there is anything I can do, please, PLEASE call me. Hell, call me anyway at your convenience.

  35. Pup said,

    So sorry to hear about everything. Glad you’re ok though.

  36. Jen said,

    Oh my gosh! I’m so sorry.. yes.. if there is anything we can do please let me know.

    Will send good thoughts and prayers your way..

  37. Catt said,

    Dear GOD, I can’t believe I just saw this. I have been so wraped up in my own stupid stuff.

    Nanner, if you are online, you know you have aplace to stay here. It’s not convenient. But hell, just come for a week and take a break from the crap.

    You know how to reach me.

  38. geewits said,

    I know we’ve never exchanged a word, but I feel as if I know you from reading Jeanette’s blog. You have my sincerest condolences. I have 3 cats and can’t even imagine the pain you must be feeling. Since you are a crafts person, I will tell you what I did for Sammy, a cat I lost a few years ago. I printed a favorite picture of Sammy on an iron-on transfer sheet, ironed that onto plain white cotton (I actually used an old white pillowcase) and made a pillow using a leopard print bandana for the back of the pillow and some Zebra striping as trim around his picture (he was a black cat). I know you won’t have time to do this for quite a while, but making that pillow really gave me some closure. Good luck for all recovery (mentally, physically and spiritually) for you and your son.

  39. se7en said,

    Drive-by hugs! Hope you guys are ok!

  40. Aimee said,

    I think geewits gets the best comment prize. That’s a lovely sentiment coming from anyone, but from someone you’ve never even talked to… it brought a tear to my eye. I wish I was as thoughtful a person. I hope you’re doing ok, Peach. I love you.

  41. restless angel said,

    Just swinging in to see if there’s anything new…. *huge hugz*

  42. Julie said,

    Stopping by to tell you I’m thinking of you and Nate many many many times a day. *hugs* to you both.

  43. Leese said,

    I’m sorry to hear about this Nanner. Please let me know what I can do to help.

  44. varla said,

    Oh sweetie, I just checked in at Aimee’s blog and came right over. I know you’re probably overwhelmed with offers of help right now, and you just add my name to that list. Anything you need, hon, anything at all.

    Losing your babies, I can’t imagine what a shock that must be. When I had to put my little Squeekie down earlier this year, I was devastated too…one thing that helped later was building a little altar for her, and celebrating her memory. I think you’re a more spiritual person than I, so I’m sure you have a better idea of what to do.

    Hugs to you, honey. I wish you peace where you can find it during this rough time.

  45. Susanne said,

    OMG Nanners! Im SO SORRY honey! Seriously, please let me know if I can do anything – im not that far away.

    You’re both in my prayers. Love you!

  46. MilkMaid1979 said,

    Just a friend of a friend (Brighton) …so sorry about all of your tragedies. Thoughts and well wishes are with you…carol

  47. brightonandbear said,

    Just tell me what you need, I am so there for you!!

  48. mrsmogul said,

    I am so sorry about this!! Glad you are okay…

  49. Foundme said,

    Your in my thoughts, babe. Glad you’ve got resources and family. Lean on them, and remember, anyone offering help WANTS to give it, so take it!

  50. ramblingmuse said,

    Hi Nanner,

    I’ve never read your blog before, but stopped in from Rocker Guy’s blog post about you. What a shock to read this. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

    Take care,
    RM

  51. Jude said,

    Nanner, I’m Jude and I’m here from Vince’s blog. I’m so very sorry to hear what happened, and that you lost your precious kitties. I can’t even imagine the hurt you must be feeling. Please know there are many, many people keeping you in their thoughts and prayers hon, and I’m one of them. Bless you!

  52. lynlee said,

    Nothing I can say will make it any less awful, but for what it’s worth, I am so sorry.

  53. Cootera said,

    Oh. My. Nanner, I’m so so sorry. And thankful to not be sorrier. I’ll be better about checking in; please let us all know how you’re doing when you have the time. Take care and big, big hugs to you and Nate!

  54. 3sth3r said,

    I’m so sorry and really glad that you and Nate are fine. My heart goes out to you for losing your loved pets. Sending good thoughts your way.

  55. Riz said,

    Hey Nanner, I was so shocked and sorry to hear of your losses. Very, very glad you and Nate are ok, though.

    Hang in there *hugs* from Oz.

    Riz

  56. julie said,

    I feel you’re pain. I am a complete stranger but I understand all too well the devestation a fire can have.
    1 year ago on jan 25, 2006 we lost everything. visit my blog and it explains more. You’ll have to look though the archives but you’ll find it.
    e-mail me if you have any questions. I have some tips.
    I’ll keep you in my thoughts
    sincerely,
    Julie connors of self-defintition. blogspot.com
    ( I have a son named Nate too… bazaar coincidence)

  57. Liz said,

    Oh my god Sweetie, I am so very very sorry to hear of your loss. I wish there was something I could do. Please, if you need anything at all, clothing for your son, or yourself, please send me an email. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

