Have You Ever…

January 25, 2007 at 10:36 pm (Crazy Shit)

Gotten a song stuck in your head and wondered if anyone else had that same exact song stuck in their head at the same time?

Or have you ever played a song over and over and over, again and again and again, and ever wondered if someone else was listening to that exact song over and over and over, again and again and again at the same time you were?

Have you ever thought of someone and they call you?

Have you ever called someone and they say, “I was just thinking about you”?

Worse, have you ever gotten sexual thoughts stuck in your head about someone? I don’t mean Johnny Depp or Ty Pennington, although I can’t think of two men I’d RATHER have sexual thoughts about, but someone you know but either haven’t ever been with but maybe felt something with and all of a sudden you can’t banish them from your thoughts.

You see their smile, hear their laughter and your conversations, and the sex is phenomenal? Its the kind of sex you would love to have with that person. The relationship you would love to have with that person and yet it came from no where. There was no catalyst for said fantasy to erupt. No phone call, no e-mail, no meeting, or if there was, it was a mundane transaction that may have happened thousands of times so it wasn’t given much thought.

Do you ever wonder if it’s them? Do you ever wonder if they’re thinking the same thing at the same time? If somehow, something touched off their thoughts about you and you are merely picking up their fantasy? Do you believe in the interconnectedness of us all? Synchronicity?

Many blog posts ago, even before Haloscan, I wrote a post about this very thing called Quantum Physics and Magick (10-14-04 at my old place).

[Editor’s explanation: The theory in that blog post was how subatomic particles are unstable and can “jump” from one place to another without crossing the distance, how they can be in two places at once, and how they can disappear and reappear and be absolutely no where based on the theories of quantum physics. Her comment was based on my question as to whether individuals are able to absorb the errant subatomic particles of others and “read” them, thus gaining emotional knowledge of the individual from whence the subatomic particles originated and as to whether this is an explanation for empathy or emotional intelligence, psychics, etc.]

Luckily, because I had not yet imported Haloscan, a very sweet friend of mine posted a comment, some of you may remember her as Phoebe or Varinbird. She said, “. . . maybe synchroncity is the effect of some of my [subatomic] particles replacing some of your particles (and vice versa), which we then absorb as our own particles, but which carry with them knowledge of the directions we were each heading… altering our trajectories such that our paths become “destined” to cross. . .” This was in response to the fact also that many folks that I know from the Blogosphere started blogging around the same time that I did in May of 2004.

Regardless, it leaves me wondering, if across miles, we can actually “read” one another. When you think of another, when that feeling is so strong, when we excite our electrons and neutrons and protons, and thus, our subatomic particles, do they have that ability to just “beam over” to the person in our thoughts? If we have had contact with that person surely there was an exchange of subatomic particles. When we think of them, do we release a portion of their particles back, taking our thoughts with them?

Sometimes, deep thinking gives me a headache. I guess it’s all a part of blowing out the pipes after wasting away in document review for 10 months.

Anyway, do you ever get someone stuck in your head and don’t know why?

11 Comments

  1. KtP said,

    1. No
    2. No
    3. Yes
    4. Yes
    5. Yes
    After that, you sorta lost me.

    Ever think you ask too many questions? 🙂

  2. Jeanette said,

    Here’s something that kind of weirds me out just a little. For every person who is out there and talking on their cell phone there is someone else on the other end. That’s a whole lot of people talking on the phone.

  3. Rebecca said,

    i had a sex dream about my boss a couple of months ago, and after that, i couldn’t see him without imagining him seducing me. The images of my dream were stuck in my head. But in my dream, his wife sicced a landscape architect and his crew on me, which kind of freaked me out. In real life, my boss kept finding reasons for us to be alone together, errands we had to run together, conversations that ran long at my desk, so even though I wasn’t attracted to him, I was thinking about him all the time, and I began to wonder if he wasn’t thinking about me all the time.

  4. Inanna said,

    KtP – He who asks the most questions, gets the most answers 🙂

    Jeanette – that is quite frightening but sometimes I’m not talking to anyone, I’m merely checking my voicemail.

    Rebecca – I’ve had that happen. Someone I’m not attracted to sneaks into my mind and takes up residence. Often I’m like, “EW!” It makes me wonder…

  5. Kent said,

    Hey, have you been having sexual thoughts about me again?? 😉

  6. Michael said,

    Whah? I gotcher subatomic particle right here… In my pants!

    No wait, that didn’t sound right.

  7. Susanne said,

    Yes. Like – YES!

    just wow.

  8. Celti said,

    um…yes. All the time. yes. 🙂
    *hugs*

  9. Inanna said,

    Kent, I could never tell a lie… uh, no.

    Mikey, LMAO!

    Susanne, Celti – You both seem happy about that. Sometimes it just confuses me.

  10. restless angel said,

    Very often, with certain people more than others… like the (now former) roomie and a friend from h.s. and every so often my mother.

  11. phoebe said,

    funny – I just came across this. did I really write that? wow. love to you on March 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

