Drive

October 30, 2006 at 6:58 pm (Black Stone Cherry, Memories)

Oh yeah, it’s my BLACK STONE CHERRY T-SHIRT!!  The one I designed…

black-stone-cherry-t-002.jpg

Ain’t got no cause not a care in the world
Got my eyes on a hot-rod girl
And I’m gonna show her my sleek mean machine
Built on love fueled by gasoline

(Chorus)
Just drive
We gonna go for a ride
Just drive
We were born to fly
Take down the top we don’t need it anymore
Drive this road with the pedal to the floor
Were gonna go for the ride of our lives
It starts right here but it won’t end tonight
(Chorus)

We been traveling this lonely highway
For way, way too long
Come with me on this lovers freeway
And we’ll find the love we need

(Chorus)

Oh, yeah, LOL! A great double entendre’ and a steamy reminder of “love by the dashboard lights.” I was a late bloomer, so I can’t honestly say that things like this happened to me in high school but… I have quite a few memories of “drive around dates.” You know, where you got the car and you really don’t have much money, but you have a six-pack and, well, you have a car.

The great thing about WV is if you go 5 to 15 minutes away from the city lights you’re in the country and being in the country means country roads, lots of ‘em. Lots of quiet places, gas roads, roads that don’t go anywhere with wide spots to turn around because you realize you’re not going anywhere. And there’s rivers everywhere and that means river banks and wide spots on river banks to have a bonfire and fish all night. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

I also just like to drive and my friend T-Bird is like that too. Sometimes you just want to drive and talk and there isn’t any real destination in mind. I like driving at night and normally when I get on a driving whim I take off for Point Pleasant which is about 45 minutes from where I live. I walk around downtown, which is about two blocks long, ending with a statue of the Mothman. If I’m with someone, sometimes we’ll walk the historic district and read the plaques telling about all of the places. Sometimes I walk in the pre-and post-Revolutionary War cemetery. I know that one of my direct ancestors was killed there and there’s Cornstalk’s Curse and the whole area is just full of ghosts and spooks and odd things.

It doesn’t help that the locals are … different. Very different. And they know you’re different. I swear every soul in that town is blessed with sixth sense and they know you’re not from there, which just adds to the creepiness factor. Not that they’re rude (unless you count those folks who chased me and a friend out of McClintick one night…) But they have a way about them.

Even the drive home is spooky because it’s along Route 35 which is heavily traveled yet very rural. They don’t have any street lights, just a couple of gas stations, an all night adult bookstore, and a lot deer in your headlights. Route 62 across the river is even more rural, if that’s possible. If you’re returning from Point Pleasant and a visit to the Mothman statue, you can imagine it gets kinda creepy because it really is in the back of your mind… where’s Mothman?

Seems I always head that way when either there’s a full moon or its raining and foggy. Gives me chills just thinking about it. Not sure which is worse, although I will admit to wondering what I would do if I suddenly saw a huge Mothman-like shadow on the highway under the full moon. Let’s hope I never find out.

If you’re ever my way, I’d love to show you around… at night. Muahahahahahahahahaahaahaaa…

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

7 Comments

  1. Charmed said,

    Um, do you have a flashlight? Lantern maybe. I’m skeered of the dark.

  2. Michael said,

    WV and its misty mountain roads is scary in October.

  3. Celti said,

    Woot! I’m all for it. Sounds like my kind of fun.

    Have a blessed Samhain, sweet Peaches!

  4. Vince said,

    Happy Halloween to you to dear!

    Driving around with you at night on a deserted road…….Sounds sexy.

  5. Jen said,

    Blessed Be!

  6. Julie said,

    Happy Samhain, Nanner!

    I thought of you on Sunday when I was watching one of the five million ghost programs that were on TV and they went to Moundsville Prison in WV. I seem to remember that being around you, although I could have totally dreamed that up.

  7. Seamus said,

    Happy Samhain NannerBelle! 🙂

Leave a Reply

