Skip

October 24, 2006 at 5:50 pm (Black Stone Cherry, General)

I get to skip “Shapes of Things” because its a cover of an old Yardbirds tune. I still like what they did with it though.

I walked into a restaurant over the weekend and found myself singing along with “Tom Sawyer” by Rush while waiting for my food. The counter guy seemed quite impressed that I knew the lyrics. Please. I’ve been singing that song for 25 years. That’s right. “Tom Sawyer” was released in 1981 on their “Moving Pictures” album.

Now Rushites, or those as fanatical about Rush as Trekkies are for Star Trek, will debate about whether “Signals” was better or worse than “Moving Pictures” and yada yada. I don’t care. “Subdivisions” was on “Signals” and therefore it is a totally awesome album just like “Moving Pictures” is. I don’t care about whatever. I care about whether I make an emotional connection to the song and the music.

Then they’ll discuss whether or not Rush “sold out” at some point when they made this or that album. Well, whatever. “Presto” is and will forever remain my absolute favorite Rush album. I’m also quite fond of “Counterparts.” But “Presto,” I love it. Nobody can sing about lions hunting in the Serengeti night quite like Geddy Lee and Co. That’s from “Scars.” I just think it’s a kick ass album and it’s full of imagery and magic.

Did you know “Rush” did a cover of “Shapes of Things” too? Now ya do! I bet you thought I couldn’t tie Rush into BSC, didn’t ya? WRONG!

Ya know, my birthday is coming up soon… and I could use the CD version of “Presto.” Just sayin’…

Oh, and my friend Cybele posted some lyrics from “Blue Morning, Blue Day” by Foreigner. I don’t think Foreigner ever did a Yardbirds cover although they’re listed as an influence of their music. Just to make some of you feel old, or way too young, Foreigner’s debut album was released in 1977. Remember “Cold as Ice,” “Long, Long Way From Home,” and “Feels Like the First Time?” 1977. “Hot Blooded,” “Dirty White Boy,” “Head Games,” “Double Vision,” 1978 to 1979. I remember because my mother was a HUGE Foreigner fan. Back then, we played them on 8 track. Yep.

And then we could go back further to her vinyl collection of The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Peter, Paul & Mary, John Denver, Simon & Garfunkel, I think she had an Elvis or two, Perry Como, and The Bee Gees Saturday Night Fever soundtrack. I played the hell out of The Beatles (A Hard Day’s Night), John Denver (Poems, Prayers & Promises), Simon & Garfunkel (Bridge Over Troubled Water), and of course, The Bee Gees, because Saturday Night Fever kicked ass, although I wasn’t allowed to watch it. She had more but I can’t remember all of them… oh yeah, Mack Davis and Charlie Pride. Of course, I started assembling my vinyl in the form of Rod Stewart, Fleetwood Mac, KISS, and Duran Duran. Shut up. I love Duran Duran. Did then, do now. Shut up.

And don’t get me started on Journey and Styx and Aerosmith, oh my. Did any of you catch the newest Styx album, the one with the big carrot on the front? Cyclorama? That album kicked ass!!! A lot of good music on that CD. Some anthem type songs but if you’re in the mood, you’re in the mood. And, I guess I’m the only person on the planet who prefers Tommy Shaw any day to Dennis DeYoung. I know, pure blasphemy! GASP! The horror! Down with thee!

SUCK IT! I LIKE TOMMY SHAW! Is Damn Yankees ever going to get back together??? I saw them once, front row center. Those were the days when you camped out for concert tickets and it was BLUE FUCKING COLD and I had bronchitis but I slept in me sleeping bag on the cold hard concrete and I was rewarded with FRONT ROW CENTER TICKETS. Jackyl and Slaughter were supporting them. WOW. Just WOW. I believe that was the last time I wore a leopard print gold lame’ bra. Let’s all heave a sigh of relief. Oh, and no, I wasn’t wearing a shirt over it either, just a leather jacket which got draped over the barricade to prevent unsightly scratches. That may have contributed to Jack Blades throwing those handcuffs at me. He must have had quite the vantage point of my bosoms. Hey, a girl works what she’s got.

Violator Girl she’s the queen of the world, she’s stops traffic with a spin and a twirl, works all day but she lives for the night, she’s got a thing for the neon lights… Violator Girl…Guess what’s next?

6 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    You preach girl! I’m a huge fan of the Moving Pictures album. Any Rush fan will admit that a new direction in their music came with Signals and that Moving Pictures was the last album of their previous “era”. I generally prefer their stuff from Moving Pictures and before, but Counterparts has to be my fave album by them. It’s so stripped down and powerful.

    I’ve got the first and second Foriegner album on CD and I love them. Waiting for a Girl Like You was “our” song for me and the first girlfriend. So many memories. And of course, Lou Graham is from Rochester, so Foriegner is like the local hero band and they get LOTS of airplay. In the song Rev On the Red Line, where Lou sings, “running all night on Lake Avenue”, well, I’ve been ON Lake Avenue cause that’s here baby! Lou still lives here and it’s not unusual to bump into him at the supermarket.

    Tommy Shaw, forget about it! All his songs kick ass while Dennis’ songs are all wimpy. Babe or Renegade? No contest.

    Now, if you REALLY wanted to impress me, you’d have some UFO or perhaps Dead Milkmen in your collection. Or White Zombie. That first album just kicks major ass.

  2. Michael said,

    I like Styx, from “Renegade” to “Mr. Roboto”. And don’t forget “Heavy Metal Poisoning”. And I like Rush’s music, just wish someone other than Geddy Lee was singing. Also, does Neil Pert really need all those drums?

  3. Seamus said,

    A gold lame’ bra? That must’ve been hot…err…hot! 😉

  4. Inanna said,

    Vince, you bump into Lou Gramm at the grocery store? Tell him I love him the next time you see him. Babe vs. Renegade? Renegade. And no, I have no UFO nor Dead Milkmen in my collection…. however I do have Rob Zombie. I will have to check out the first White Zombie CD first chance I get.

    Mikey, you don’t like Geddy Lee singing? GASP! And yes, Neil does really need all of those drums!

    Seamus, I could throw down in my day. LOL!

  5. Beth said,

    😦 I didn’t recognize a lot of the artists you mentioned. Till you said Duran Duran and The Beatles and I perked up! Who doesn’t love the Beatles? And I looooooove Duran Duran! My sister saw them in concert in NYC last year, I think, and she said they sounded great!

  6. Susanne said,

    Wow – you’ve definately brought back alot of memories with those bands… Foreigner, Styx, Journey, Elton John, Simon and Garfunkel (and yeah, I got to see them in concert on their “concert in the park” run- omg it was awesome back then)

    Anyway – thanks for the memory jolt =)

Leave a Reply

