Shooting Star

October 20, 2006 at 4:52 pm (Black Stone Cherry, Memories)

Ooops, it appears I forgot to post!

I’ve seen your evil ways
And your corrupting mind
Lay the hourglass over
So we don’t waste our time
Now throw your burdens out
And throw your heart to me
I don’t know what’ll come
We’ll have to wait and see

Like a shooting star
And you’re falling from me
As you fade away
My heart skips a beat

I know you’re down on love
But we can love again
So open up
Come on invite me in
Now throw your burdens out
And throw your heart to me
I don’t know what’ll come
We’ll have to wait and see

Like a shooting star
And you’re falling from me
As you fade away
My heart skips a beat

I’ve seen your evil ways
And your corrupting mind
Lay the hourglass over
So we don’t waste our time

Like a shooting star
And you’re falling from me
As you fade away
My heart skips a beat

I’m a howlin’ wolf
You’re a shooting star
Yes I am
You’re a shooting star

One of the great things about Black Stone Cherry is Chris Robertson’s amazing voice. Amazing. I would have never guessed he was only 20 years old when this was recorded. For this song, it’s not just the memories it roots up but also the passion of the song, especially live. I could write a whole book on “now throw your burdens out/and throw your heart to me,” not just those who wished I would do it, but those I wish would do it. It’s like a game of mousetrap. Every action has a reaction, the ball has to fit in the cup which tips the seesaw which pulls the string, on and on. If one element fails, the whole thing fails.

Lex, my ex-boyfriend, was a shooting star. For years, we passed like ships in the night. I often referred to him as a phantom, appearing and disappearing in the blink of an eye. I would gather the courage to speak to him, turn, and he would be gone. He said he thought I was, “cold.” He had to take that back.

I remember us talking about tattoos and I said, “I have one,” and he said, “I know.” I thought back to the moments when he may have seen as it is situated on my left hip. Since our intimate moments at that time numbered exactly one, I remembered very clearly what had happened, and none it involved him inspecting my left hip.

“How?”

“I saw it.”

“When?”

“When you got up to shut the window and blow out the candle.” Yes, I had done that. I wasn’t used to having another body in the bed with me and I had slept lightly, enough that the train that runs by my house woke me. I got up, buck nekkid, shut the window and blew out the candle. Given how my bed was situated at the time and the fact my windows can be a bitch to close quietly, yeah, I figure he got a pretty good look at that tattoo… not to mention the rest of me. *Shrug* I was much more comfortable being naked than he was. (Guys have body image issues too… just so ya know)

When I asked why he didn’t let me know he was awake, he said he liked watching me.

After things went south, I wondered if it was just me he didn’t trust, or all women, and from our subsequent conversations determined it was neither. He didn’t trust himself not to lose himself in love.

It’s hard to watch the star fall away from you, but, I know it’s just as hard to be the star.

5 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    I’ve been trying to catch up, Nanner. An interesting series of posts here.

  2. Serra said,

    I really liked this post–guess I never really thought about being the star myself.

  3. LisaBinDaCity said,

    I sometimes think all relationships are always about trust….

  4. Seamus said,

    So damaged we all are that it’s a wonder trust exists at all.

  5. Kristin said,

    Just stoppin’ by with some love. It’s been awhile…..*sniff*

Leave a Reply

