Lonely Train

October 9, 2006 at 11:05 pm (Black Stone Cherry, Memories)

*Dusts hands off*

Time to get back to some Black Stone Cherry!

Big train rolling down the line
Makes me lonely
Sometimes I wish to ride away
Sometimes I want to ride away
Big plane flying through the clouds
Makes me worry
Sometimes I wish to fly away
Sometimes I want to fly away

But you can’t judge a book, looking at the cover
You can’t love someone, messing with another
You can’t win a war, fighting with your brother
You wanna have peace, gotta love one another

Big guns lighting up the sky
Makes me worry
Sometimes I wish to run away
Sometimes I want to run away
But you can’t judge a book, looking at the cover
You can’t love someone, messing with another
You can’t win a war, fighting with your brother
You wanna have peace, gotta love one another

I have seen my brothers
In ashes on the ground
Maybe in a new life
We can turn this thing around

But you can’t judge a book, looking at the cover
You can’t love someone, messing with another
You can’t win a war, fighting with your brother
You wanna have peace, gotta love one another

When I step outside my office to smoke, one of the tallest buildings in town sits directly on the next corner. The first couple of times I smoked there, I became aware the flight path to the airport made it appear planes were flying into the building. I realized this was an optical illusion. The planes far too high and further east than any of the buildings. But… it still looked like it. A personal reminder of 9/11 everyday and what has followed.

One day a coworker and I were on the second floor of a local bar & grill when a C-130 rattled the windows and our teeth. Instinctively, we ducked. As though that would have done us any good. That fear was there.

I see my brother in his flight suit, my mother crying and hugging him as we sent him off to war the first time in 1991. My brother still wears a flight suit, but now he’s the married father of three. When I close my eyes, I see him graduating from basic training, AIT, giving flight demos, his wedding, the way he absentmindedly feathers Annie’s hair, the way he tousles his sons’ hair, takes the fish off their lines, how they run around in mini flight suits, little camo gear with mock guns and bows and arrows. They follow him, they emulate him, they worship him.

We know it’s just a matter of time. We just don’t know where. Iraq? Afghanistan? Kosovo?

We know it’s just a matter of time… tick… tock.

6 Comments

  1. As Always... Rachael said,

    That must be a very proud, yet frightening feeling. My cousins are there and they’ve been lucky so far, but I’d feel a lot better if they were home.

  2. Susanne said,

    A very good friend of mine just got back from there… his tour was 15 months. 15 months of that hell hole. Im glad he’s home alive.

  3. Serra said,

    One of the kids (well, an 18 year old, but to me he’s a kid) from the MUD I Admin for just went over last month. He tried to give away his character–didn’t think he’d be back to play it. Depressing.

  4. Jeanette said,

    Why do they have to grow up, huh?

  5. Vince said,

    I’m pretty sure the “next” place is Asia, probably Korea.

    While I’ve done my time, I don’t think I’d recommend it to my kids.

  6. Seamus said,

    Any plane flying too low around here still gives me the willies!

Leave a Reply

