Rain Wizard

October 2, 2006 at 6:38 pm (Black Stone Cherry, Memories)

As promised, I will start my Black Stone Cherry series, but not before I do my trip diary.

Left home at 4:30, met Angi around 10-ish in Asheville. Met Casey as well. I love her. I just love you Angi! Felt like I had known her FOREVER! I also popped her blogger cherry. It was just a fruitful weekend.

Late getting to Regan’s but I got to meet Kevin, what a sweet fellow, and Sadie, oh, what a sweet puppy! Regan loved her necklace but of course I wondered if it was good enough. They fed me Mexican food but then I started stressing about making the show on time. Thanks for the grub guys!

Took me forever to get to the amphitheater due to traffic but I could hear BSC in the parking lot. Went in, rocked out, made myself comfortable for the next… six hours. They kicked ass, of course. Hinder was very good, all of the bands were, even if I wasn’t that much into them. I was so tired I catnapped between 3 Days Grace and Staind, in my seat, among the sold out crowd of 30,000 or was it 40. I would have napped longer but the drunk lady in my row was a little unsteady as she negotiated around me.

Met up with some fine peeps from TN, Kim and Matt, who are huge BSC fans like me. Oh, more of my people! We hung out, then finally tracked the band down (we were hanging out on the wrong side), hung out with the band and some members of the other bands… let’s just say, one of Hinder’s guitarists gives new meaning to “Great Balls of Fire.” *shiver*

Thanks to Jon from BSC and the Red Bull he gave me, I was able to make it out of Atlanta (I got turned around and luckily saw the tour bus leaving so that’s what got me back on the road) and I made it to the next to last rest area on 85 in northern GA before I pulled over.

Tough trip, didn’t get home until late last night because I had to pick Nate up at my parent’s place but well worth it. Roadtripping rocks!

Now, on with the show.

Rain Wizard

Here comes the rain

Once I was searchin’
For somethin’ to change my ways
Clouds they came rollin’
And from the thunder I heard them say

The rain wizard will wash our hands
Bring magic to our lands
The rain wizard will do it again
Bring magic to our land

Hair strung like silver
And the moons they lit his robe
His boots they are leading
To a path that no one knows

The rain wizard will wash our hands
Bring magic to our lands
The rain wizard will do it again
Bring magic to our land

Here comes the Rain Wizard

First, it speaks of magic, which is big for me. Appalachia is full of legends and tall tales of odd characters passing through, ghosts, banshees, and haints.

My Ma-Ma and my great-uncle by marriage could cure thrush by blowing in your mouth. She, due to the fact that she married someone with the same last name, and he, due to the fact he was the 7th son. Old wives tales… but so very true. One of my Pa-Pa’s brothers and my best friend in high school could make warts fall off by rubbing them. My Ma-Ma could also tell you were pregnant before you could. She did it with my aunts, her neighbors, and yours truly.

I can often tell if someone is pregnant before they know, it’s just a look about them, but my greatest gift is knowing the sex of the baby. My accuracy runs about 90% and when I lie to myself, it finds another way. I thought for 8 months and 29 days that my niece was a third nephew, until my sister-in-law was in labor and I dreamt of Annie. When my mom called with the news, she said, “It’s a girl.” I said, “I know, I dreamt it this morning.” I was just too stubborn to admit that it was a girl since I’ve wanted one to round out my non-existent brood.

Then, there’s the rain itself. I love thunderstorms and (LOL!) I recently read an article about a woman struck by lightning who has the same problem with electronics that I do, although I don’t ever recall being struck my lightning. Bzzzzzzt! Home is where the lightning strikes, the thunder rolls, and I sleep through it.

Since Nate and I were caught in the thunderstorm a couple years ago, I’ve made it a point to play in the rain more often. The other day we took a walk in the rain, probably the last warm rain of the year. It wasn’t nearly as good as our run through the puddles the previous time but still worth it.

This song, it just reminds me of the unexplainable magical things around me and in me, thunderstorms and the blessings of rain.

8 Comments

  1. ESC said,

    BEEYOTCH! The necklace is SO perfect and wonderful!!! I can only hope people notice ME and not just the necklace! 😉

    glad you got to your concert and then made it home (eventually) OK. Did you get your BSC necklace finished in time?

  2. Inanna said,

    You will be a beautiful bride, ESC!!! Your dress is gorgeous! I didn’t get it finished and then I fixed it and then it fell apart again… and I spent the night with you if my Mom asks. I actually spent it in my car at a rest area… oh well!

  3. Susanne said,

    Glad to hear you had a great time Nanners!! =)

  4. Seamus said,

    Resting up in beautiful downtown Hartwell were you!!! LOL

    Trip sounds like a real whirlwind – glad you had fun and made it safely to and fro. Which ampitheater was it? Chastain (that would seem small)? Lakewood?

    Mountain magic? There certainly is something to it! 🙂

  5. ESC said,

    dammit woman. our couch is HUGE and comfy. You could have actually spent a restful night here.

    sucks about the necklace – it was so pretty! the other one was gorgeous, too,. Maybe you’ll have better luck finishing that one.

  6. Michael said,

    You stormed into Atlanta and then when you got home, the weather stormed in on you. Glad you made it back safely.

  7. Vince said,

    They have taint in Appelachia? Ooooooh, you said haint! It’s my old tired eyes and that small font. Yeah, that’s what it is.

    Sounds like it was a great show. Getting to hang with the band must have been cool! Glad you made it back in one piece.

  8. Inanna said,

    Susanne, thanks!

    Seamus, it was HiBis Amphitheater south on 85 from Atlanta.

    ESC, well, I thought about it but then I had a Red Bull and felt invincible… and it was after 1 in the morning…

    Mikey, I storm wherever I go!

    Vince, I’m always glad to make it back in one piece! You should go see the band with Black Label Society in Rochester… I think that’s pretty close to you! 😉

Leave a Reply

