I’m A Dork

August 30, 2006 at 10:49 pm (General, Nate)

I just spent an inordinate amount of time trying to determine what species of cicada sings outside of my house. This was brought on by the fact we had no power due to a massive havoc wreaking thunderstorm which passed through, which allowed us to lay in bed and listen without distraction to the cicadas and discussing whether cicadas and locusts are the same thing, which they aren’t, leading me to mention the plagues of Egypt, which Nate then wanted to know about, so we dusted off my grandmother’s Bible and I read, with word changes, the story of Moses and Aaron and the Pharaoh and all the plagues, and then explained why the Children of Israel celebrate Passover and why it is important to them, and then sped up the story to tell how the Pharaoh let the Jews out of Egypt but then tried to kill them and Moses parted the waters of the Red Sea so the Jews could pass through and then how he closed the waters on Pharaoh’s army, and then God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light, and Nate started watching TV and I came to blog.

All of that from a little cicada.

13 Comments

  1. Charmed said,

    I just love that, did you know this? You are one kewl woman.

  2. cybele said,

    “….closed the waters on Pharoh’s army, and then God said “Let there be light,” and there was light, and Nate started watching TV…”

    WITH a matzoh in his hand, I hope.

  3. Inanna said,

    Thanks, Angi!

    Sorry, Cybele, all we have around here is Jesus bread, meaning, it has risen.

  4. Serra said,

    Isn’t it cool how chances to teach come out of the blue?

  5. Celti said,

    Cool!

    By the way, you were right – they don’t sing after dark here, either. …but the crickets sure do. Funny how you don’t notice until you really listen.

  6. Aimee said,

    That was awesome!

    I can’t find the email with the password. I’m not very organized right now.

  7. Vince said,

    Yep, you’re a dork, but we love you anyway.

    I actually had a similar discussion with the boys one day on the Exodus that first started with Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars. How’s that for ending up somewhere far from where you started?

  8. cybele said,

    Jesus bread. Hah!

  9. CrazyRideLady said,

    I love it when a plan comes together. You planned it that way, right?

  10. Cootera said,

    What a sweet lil’ roundabout way to weave a story… me likey.

  11. restless angel said,

    It’s amazing what you notice once the distractions are gone briefly. And how quickly we go back to them when they aren’t.

  12. Inanna said,

    Serra, I like it, especially since I had a rapt audience for once!

    Celti, and often it is hard to tell where the cicadas leave off and the crickets start.

    Aimee, we have awesome moments together!

    Vince, I can say, at least mine started with a plague…

    cybele, Ha!

    CRL, had I planned it, it would have screwed up somehow.

    Thank ya, Cootera.

    RA, I love the night so I stay very much in-tune to the sounds, like, now, at 7:00 a.m., the crickets are still chirping, two weeks ago, they were already silent. In some ways though, I wish I was hearing spring peepers… instead, it’s raindrops.

  13. brighton said,

    Very cool way to spend an evening!

Leave a Reply

