Digression

October 15, 2004 at 11:54 am (Uncategorized)

Almost forgot this today:

Song of the day: Jesus Is Just Alright – Doobie Brothers (From the album Toulouse Street – Released July 1972)

I LOVED this song and I still do. It rocked, it rolled, it was soulful. Another example of Inanna belting out songs at a very young age. I never knew if it was Pat Simmons or Tom Johnston who sang “Jesus…” but I’m guessing it was Simmons as he sang lead on “China Grove.” All I remember is the song slowly, the music fading and this gorgeous voice vibrating to the bottom of my soul… “Jeeesusssss, he’s my friend….”

Book of the day: The Book of Three – Lloyd Alexander (Book 1 of 5 in the “Chronicles of Prydain – Published 1964)

I still own the original copies of the books I bought as a child. I had to borrow books 3 and 4 from the library and sadly, because I was not fond of book 4, ended up not reading book 5. However, I do plan to remedy that. Anyway, again, I was blown away by this book in as far as having a sarcastic, intelligent, strong-willed heroine, Eilonwy, in addition to the sufffering hero, Taran, assistant pig keeper. The plot is fast paced, the characters are outstanding and thankfully, its just the beginning. I couldn’t get enough of the land of Prydain and its fantasy creatures and magic. I felt “comfortable” while reading his books, as though they were written about some other life I had lead.

Have a good weekend!!

5 Comments

  1. Cattiva said,

    I LOVE the Doobies! Perfect weekend music. I don’t have anything on cd (all albums!). Maybe I’ll go buy one so I can listen in my car. GREAT driving music.

  2. Inanna said,

    The Doobies ROCK!! I’m sure they will appear again in my songfest.

  3. CountChocula said,

    I need my Doobies in small doses. A hit of Black Water every now and then will sustain me. 😉

    Have a great weekend Chickster!

  4. Inanna said,

    Just a “hit” of Black Water… heee heee

  5. jp said,

    Did you know that Jeramiah was a Bullfrog?

    Yes, I know that’s not the Doobies, but still.

Leave a Reply

